Review: Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren




Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners and the “delectable, moving” (Entertainment Weekly) My Favorite Half-Night Stand comes a modern love story about what happens when your first love reenters your life when you least expect it…


Genre: Contemporary romance, fiction
Rating: 4⭐️

This was my second Christina Lauren book and while it was very different from The Unhoneymooners, I really enjoyed it. The story follows Tate through her first love, heartbreak and repercussions of a betrayal fourteen years later. Tate is the daughter of a famous film star, but she’s been hiding from the media for most of her life so she could be a normal teenage girl. While on vacation in London with her grandmother, she meets Sam. Sam and Tate have a whirlwind, teenage romance filled with lust for two weeks until he betrays her and breaks her heart. The next portion of the book follows Tate, now an actress in Hollywood as she reconnects with Sam at the site of her new movie.

I wasn’t expecting almost 40% of the book to be about teenage Sam & Tate, but do think it was important to set the tone of the story. Their romance was adorable – young, innocent, passionate teenage love. I was rooting for them and heartbroken alongside Tate by the unexpected betrayal. We also meet other characters – Tate’s grandmother and Sam’s grandfather – that are important later in the story.

Fourteen years later, we find Tate on the set of her new movie, ready for her big break. While the story may revolve around the relationship between Sam and Tate, the side plots were very enjoyable and carried the story on their own. Tate navigating Hollywood, finding her own happiness, and her relationship with her Dad (even though he was a jerk!) all gave the story some extra depth. I find myself enjoying stories about Hollywood more and more lately!

I had a hard time coming to terms with Sam’s decision but Lauren excels at making us feel conflicted about these messy, complex characters. The relationship felt very authentic and I appreciated that we spent so much time with young Sam and Tate in the beginning of the story.

The ending was a bit abrupt but I was overall very happy with the story. If you are looking for a sweet, touching story I definitely recommend this book. Each Christina Lauren book seems to be unique and I can’t wait to pick up the next one.

Have you read Twice in a Blue Moon? What is your favorite Christina Lauren book? Tell me in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Review: Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

  1. This book has been on my TBR for entirely too long. Maybe 2021 will be the year it finally gets read! Lol… I’m not a huge fan of flashbacks in romances but I’m still keen to check out the book! Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a good one! And a really quick read. It’s not really a flashback, the first 30% of the book is young Sam & Tate meeting and falling in love and the rest is on the movie set. I also really enjoy the Hollywood/fame setting, it adds more complexity to the story!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s